Former location of Temple, Cheetham Hill Road. (c) googlemaps.
Seen here in 1958 with its faded sign advertising a bowling green, in the background in 1959 and here in 1971, the Temple was in the shadow of St Luke's church in Cheetham Hill. What remains of the church is a sorry sight today with only the tower and damaged graves remaining after the main church building was demolished due to dry rot. There was a pub here before the Temple was built in 1851, a picturesque Tudor inn called the Eagle & Child. The site of the pubs is now modern housing around Schoolside Close, though to their rear remain playing fields which must have been where the bowling green and also a pond were.
St Luke's Church, Cheetham Hill Road. (c) googlemaps.