Before the John Rylands Library was built on Deansgate, there used to be a narrow street called Spinningfield off Deansgate, and on the other side, Mulberry Street used to continue to join the main thoroughfare. On the corner of Deansgate and Spinningfield was the York Minster pub, its exact former location being precisely this corner of the library . The pub was likely lost around 1889 when Enriqueta Rylands purchased land on Deansgate for the building of the stunning Gothic library which would commemorate her late husband, John . The old street, Spinnningfield, has of course given its name to the massive Spinningfields business and residential redevelopment on the River Irwell side of Deansgate.
1. Manchester City Centre 1849, Alan Godfrey Maps (2008).