Oxford Street in Salford used to be a main thoroughfare that passed south from Regent Road, past the iconic Salford Lads Club on the corner of Coronation Street and what was Oxford Street (and previously Henrietta Street). A few yards down the street and on the other side of the road was the Tanners Arms on the corner of Martha Street. It was first owned by Broadbent's Steam Brewery of Chorlton-on-Medlock and in 1892 the landlord was advertising Broadbent's Bitter, Mild, 'C' ales and fine cigars. The Manchester Brewery took over and refurbished it when Broadbent's closed, as they surrendered their license at the Staff of Life . The Tanners Arms passed to Threlfalls, it lasted until 1971 and it was demolished later in the '70s .
Tanners Arms, Oxford Street, Salford, 1920s. (c) Neil Richardson .
2. Salford Pubs - Part Two: Including Islington, Ordsall Lane and Ordsall, Oldfield Road, Regent Road and Broughton, Neil Richardson (2003).