Post Office, Hilton Street, Higher Broughton, 1952. (c) Neil Richardson .
Hilton Street in Higher Broughton boasts one of Salford's few surviving pubs, the Church, but lower down, on the corner with Fenney Street, stood the Post Office until 1978. Today, looking at this corner, just off Bury New Road, you can see another survivor, the Dover, along Fenney Street. The Post Office Inn beerhouse probably opened in the 1850s on the site of Higher Broughton's first ever post office. By the 1890s, Hydes Brewery were leasing the beerhouse, followed by the Moss Side Brewery, then Walker & Homfrey in the 1920s . It last owners were Tetley's, and below is an evocative 1980 photo of the pub two years after it closed, with the buildings that once housed the Post Office's regulars in ruins in the foreground as "regeneration" takes place.
Post Office, Hilton Street, (c) Salford Pubs of the 70s at flickr .
1. Salford Pubs - Part Three: Including Cross Lane, Broad Street, Hanky Park, the Height, Brindleheath, Charlestown and Weaste, Neil Richardson (2003).
2. Salford Pubs of the 70s - www.flickr.com/photos/61756486@N05.